Your guide to the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 in New Zealand

July 20th will see the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 kick off in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Featuring 32 teams, competing in 64 matches across nine host cities, this competition is set to impress.

Teams playing in the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, in order of ranking

All but three competing nations are already locked in, with the last teams to be decided in the first FIFA Women’s World Cup Play-Off Tournament.

Portugal, Cameroon, Thailand, Chile, Haiti, Senegal, Chinese Taipei, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay and Panama are all in the running for these spots.

The following teams are already confirmed to play in the tournament:

World rankingTeamHost stadium
1United StatesBay City Park, Auckland
3SwedenNew Zealand Campus of Innovation and Sport, Wellington
6NetherlandsBay Oval, Mt Maunganui
8SpainMassey Sports Institute, Palmerston North
10South Korea
11JapanOrangetheory Stadium, Christchurch
12Australia (co-host)
13NorwaySeddon Fields, Auckland
15ItalyShepherds Park, Auckland
21SwitzerlandTāhuna Park, Dunedin
22New Zealand (co-host)Keith Hay Park, Auckland
31ArgentinaMichaels Ave, Auckland
33VietnamFred Taylor Park, Auckland
37Costa RicaNgā Puna Wai, Christchurch
53PhilippinesOlympic Park, Auckland
54South AfricaPorirua Park, Wellington
80ZambiaKorikori Park, Hamilton

NZ and England women's football teams playing each other.
Watch the best women’s teams in the world take on each other in NZ.

Purchase your tickets now

If you’re planning to some games in Aotearoa New Zealand, now is the time to secure your tickets.

This sales phase will remain open until the 3rd of March 2023, and with tickets starting at just NZ$20, they’re a bargain!

The final phase will open in April 2023, with the tournament opening on 20th July at Eden Park, Auckland, following soon after.

The final will be held at Stadium Australia in Sydney on 20th August 2023.

Related: 101 New Zealand travel FAQs: A guide for first-time visitors.

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 draw

FIFA Women's World Cup 2023 draw

New Zealand will host 29 matches, including the first match between the Football Ferns and Norway at Eden Park. Australia will host the other 35 games, including the final on August 20 in Sydney.

The first-ever 32-team FIFA Women’s World Cup will be an amazing global celebration of football. It welcomes Morocco, Zambia, Philippines, Vietnam and the Republic of Ireland for the first time and promises to be the biggest Women’s World Cup yet.

We’re witnessing strong demand for many fixtures, so I urge everyone to get in quickly during this new sales phase. Join us in making history in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand by adding to the crowd, culture, and colour of the biggest FIFA Women’s World Cup ever.

Fatma Samoura, FIFA Secretary General

Don’t miss it!

Similar Posts